The Three Groups of Spiritual Gifts

Posted in: Gifts of the Holy Spirit, 0696
By Dr. Larry Ollison

God has given the Church special gifts that are administered by the Holy Spirit that meet different needs within the Church. The purpose of all the gifts is to edify and build up the body of Christ (1 Corinthians 14:12). The gifts of the Spirit can be divided into three basic groups or categories which will help in the understanding of these gifts. They are the gifts of speech, the gifts of power, and the gifts of revelation.

The first group is the gifts of speech. They are prophecy, different kinds of tongues, and interpretation of tongues. All three of these gifts say something through the anointing of the Holy Spirit.

The second group is the gifts of power. Likewise, there are three gifts in this group. They are the gift of faith, the working of miracles, and the gifts of healings. These gifts perform an act, or we could say, these gifts do something.

The third group is the gifts of revelation. They are the word of wisdom, the word of knowledge, and discerning of spirits. The revelation gifts each reveal something.

A. The Gifts of Speech (They say something)
• Prophecy
• Different Kinds of Tongues
• Interpretation of Tongues

B. The Gifts of Power (They do something)
• The Gift of Faith
• The Working of Miracles
• The Gifts of Healings

C. The Gifts of Revelation (They reveal something)
• The Word of Wisdom
• The Word of Knowledge
• Discerning of Spirits

All nine of these gifts are distributed by the Holy Spirit and remember, He distributes them to each one individually according to His will.

Devotion 0696